Nevada changes GVW permit rule

Nevada has changed a law on permitting for commercial motor vehicles with a gross vehicle weight of 10,001 lbs. or greater and will now require them to have a 24-hour temporary registration trip permit before entering the state

Nevada has changed a law on permitting for commercial motor vehicles with a gross vehicle weight of 10,001 lbs. or greater and will now require them to have a 24-hour temporary registration trip permit before entering the state.

The law goes into effect on July 1. Previously, vehicles were able to travel to the first available vendor within the state to purchase a permit.

The new law is included in Assembly Bill 372. The bill also institutes new penalties for anyone failing to declare their vehicle weights properly. Any person caught operating a vehicle weighing more than the declared weight will have to reregister the vehicle, pay the additional registration fees, and be subject to a minimum administrative fine of $500. Criminal penalties may still be enforced.

The penalties do not apply to tow trucks or persons with approved farmer/rancher exemptions.

TAGS: News
Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish