ATD names Truck of the Year, Dealer of the Year

ATD names Truck of the Year, Dealer of the Year

The American Truck Dealers (ATD) handed out several awards at its Convention & Expo in San Francisco last week, including its Truck of the Year.

The Kenworth T880 vocational truck with a Paccar MX-13 engine garnered the top award as Truck of the Year, besting the International WorkStar 7600 and the Peterbilt Model 567, ATD said.

According to the group, judges selected the T880 for its exceptional handling, power, torque and outstanding visibility from all quarters of the driver’s seat. The judges, a panel of select journalists, selected the winners from categories including innovation, design, safety and driver satisfaction.

ATD also named Scott McCandless, president of McCandless Truck Center in Colorado, Truck Dealer of the Year.

“My father showed me that this business is about taking care of customers, being involved in the community, and developing good working relationships with employees and suppliers,” said McCandless. “What a complete honor. It is especially humbling to be selected from such a select group of dealers.”

Brian Bruckner, president of Bruckner Truck Sales, Amarillo, Texas, was named the finalist for the award. The four other nominees were Kevin G. Holmes, president and CEO of Tri State Truck Center Inc., Shrewsbury, MA; Robert A. Neitzke, president of GATR Truck Center, with multiple locations in Iowa and Minnesota; Kari J. Rihm, president and CEO of Rihm Kenworth, with multiple locations in Minnesota and Wisconsin; and James Sayre Jr., president of G.L. Sayre Inc., Conshohocken, PA.

State, metro and national association leaders selected the nominees for the annual award. They were evaluated on dealership performance, industry leadership and civic contributions. A panel of professors from Indiana University’s Kelley School of Business chose the winner and finalist, ATD said.

TAGS: News
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.