ATA’s Safety Management Council announces award winners

FedEx Ground, A. Duie Pyle and CVS Transportation have been named President’s Trophy recipients by the American Trucking Assns.’ (ATA) Safety Management Council.

The fleets were among those honored as 2013 award winners at the Safety & Human Resources National Conference & Exhibition in Sparks, NV, last week.

The ATA President’s Trophy recognizes the three companies whose fleets have been judged to have the best overall safety programs from the truck & industrial safety contests. These contests judge motor carriers from across the United States on their safety accomplishments and safety records relative to others within their operation type and size, ATA said. The top three ATA President’s Trophy recipients are honored for their superior safety achievements, outstanding commitment to industry-wide safety and extensive promotion of safety among all highway users.

The complete list of winners in all categories:

2013 ATA President’s Trophy (Sponsored by: Great West Casualty Company)

Large fleet winner (over 100 million miles annually)

FedEx Ground, Moon Township, Pa.

Mid-size fleet winner (between 25-100 million miles annually)

A. Duie Pyle, West Chester, Pa.

Small fleet winner (under 25 million miles annually)

CVS Transportation, L.L.C., Woonsocket, R.I.

ATA National Driver of the Year (Sponsored by: Custard Insurance Adjusters)

Gary Babbitt, Central Freight Lines, Dallas, Tex.

National Safety Director of the Year(Sponsored by: Great West Casualty Company)

Jerry Waddell, Cargo Transporters, Inc., Claremont, N.C.

National Safety Professional Award of Excellence (Sponsored by: Meritor WABCO)

Jason Wing, ABF Freight System, Little Rock, Ark.

Excellence in Safety (Sponsored by: Great West Casualty Company)

North Carolina Trucking Association

TAGS: News
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.