Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance launches driver excellence award program

The Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance (CVSA) has launched a new awards program to recognized professional drivers and their commitment to safety.

According to CVSA, “the International Driver Excellence Award (IDEA) will officially acknowledge one exceptional professional bus or truck driver each year who consistently goes above and beyond the performance of his or her duties as a commercial vehicle driver, distinguishing himself/herself conspicuously and beyond the call of duty through the achievement of safe operation and compliance carried out with evident distinction for an extended period of time, beyond the normal service of duty. The nominated individual must be of personal character beyond reproach, as indicated in the IDEA award criteria.”

That criteria includes:

  • At least 25 cumulative years of accident-free driving in a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) with a clean driving record for the past three years
  • No felony convictions
  • No safety-related driving suspensions in the past three years
  • No driver violations in the past three years, excluding form and manner violations

The deadline for nominations is Friday, Feb. 27, 2015. Download the nomination form. The winner will be announced in April and presented with his or her award at the CVSA 2015 Annual Conference and Exhibition in Boise, Idaho, in September. The winner will receive a trophy, a monetary award and a medallion to place on his or her truck or bus.

TAGS: News
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.