Heather DeBaillie cochairman Membership Committee Truckload Carriers Association TCA and TCA Rigster of the Year Kevin Burch president Jet Express Inc

Heather DeBaillie, co-chairman, Membership Committee, Truckload Carriers Association (TCA), and TCA Rigster of the Year Kevin Burch, president, Jet Express, Inc.

TCA honors members

Las Vegas. Nineteen companies were recognized at the 75thannual Truckload Carriers Association (TCA) conference taking place here this week for reaching milestones of TCA membership. Member companies are inducted into the “Ambassador Club” upon reaching 25 years with the organization.

Following their initial induction, they are honored every five years for their ongoing commitment to TCA and the industry. Special recognition is bestowed when a company reaches the 50- or 75-year mark. This year, Truck One, Inc., of Newark, OH, reached 65 years of membership. Seven companies were inducted for reaching the 25-year mark.

At the new member welcome reception held on Saturday, March 2, Membership Committee co-chairs Aaron Tennant, president and CEO of Tennant Truck Lines, Inc., and Heather DeBaille, marketing manager for CAT Scale Company, presented the awards to the 2013 honorees:


65 Years Truck One, Inc., Newark, OH
Jay Winegardner, president and CEO
45 Years


Crete Carrier Corporation, Lincoln, NB
Tonn Ostergard, president and CEO

  Howell's Motor Freight, Inc., Roanoke, VA
Harry Norris, president
35 Years


C.R. England, Inc., Salt Lake City, UT
Daniel E. England, chairman

  Con-way Truckload, Joplin, MO
Herbert J. Schmidt, president and CEO
  Heartland Express, North Liberty, IA
Michael Gerdin, president
30 Years


CrossGlobe Transport, Ltd., Newport News, VA
Bill Franks, president

  GE Capital, Transportation Finance, Irving, TX
John Conkin, Vice President
  HireRight, Inc., Tulsa, OK
Justin Reed, Industry Relations
  May Trucking Co., Salem, Oregon
C. Marvin May, CEO
  Prime Inc., Springfield, Missouri
Robert E. Low, Founder and President
  Weinrich Truck Line, Inc., Hinton, Iowa
Donna Weinrich-Lucht, President
25 Years


Baylor Trucking, Inc., Milan, Indiana
Robert Baylor, President

  Crane Composites, Channahon, Illinois
James Canaday, Vice President, National Accounts Manager
  J & M Tank Lines, Inc., Birmingham, Alabama
Harold Sumerford, CEO
  Mercer Transportation Co., Inc., Louisville, Kentucky
James Stone, President
  TMW Systems, Inc., Cleveland, Ohio
Dave Wangler, President and CEO
  Transportation Costing Group, Inc., Rockville, Maryland
Kenneth Manning, President
  Wabash National Corporation, Lafayette, Indiana
Richard Giromini, President and CEO

With the addition of the seven newest inductees, there are now a total of 88 companies in TCA’s Ambassador Club, according to TCA.

Nine other individuals were also honored for helping to recruit members for the organization.  Dubbed the “Rigsters,” this year’s list includes:


Kevin Burch, President, Jet Express, Inc., Dayton, OH

Ray Haight, CEO, Transrep Inc., Caledonia, Ontario

Paul Higgins, Director of Fleet Maintenance, Prime Inc., Springfield, MO

Deanna Klose, former Director of Human Resources, Veriha Trucking, Inc., Marinette, WI

Tom Kretsinger, Jr., President, American Central Transport, Inc., Liberty, MO

Robert Low, Prime Inc., President & Founder, Springfield, MO

Tom McLeod, President, McLeod Software Corporation, Birmingham, AL

Amy Mielke, Transportation Sourcing Leader, Owens Corning, Toledo, OH

Tom Witt, President, Roehl Flatbed & Specialized, Roehl Transport Inc., Marshfield, WI


“Our association is fortunate to have such a loyal and committed membership base. The knowledge our Ambassador Club companies have contributed over the years is what has made this association such a valuable asset to the truckload community. And we are also grateful to our Rigsters, who believe so deeply in what we do that they’re willing to take the time to share the rewards with other companies,” said TCA president, Chris Burruss. “Without our Ambassadors and Rigsters, we wouldn’t be where we are today.”  

TAGS: News
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.