Truck and bus operators in New Jersey are being warned to restrict idling to three minutes or less-- or risk paying fines that will start at $200 per day, according to the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection (DEP).
The agency recently announced plans to step up enforcement of existing idling regulations that restrict diesel-powered vehicles from idling for more than three consecutive minutes if the vehicle is not in motion.
Vehicles at the operator’s place of business (i.e., the home terminal or base) are required to limit idling to less than 30 minutes. Vehicles not located at the operator’s home base may idle for up to 15 minutes, if the engine has been shut down for three or more hours prior to the idling period.
According to DEP, inspectors will target retail centers, truck yards, warehouse distribution centers, loading/unloading areas, bus staging areas, convenience stores and public entertainment venues in their statewide effort to curb idling. New Jersey residents can also call a 24-hour toll-free number to report suspected violations.
To learn more about the requirements, can contact DEP’s Diesel Risk Reduction Team at 609-633-2306. Complaints or comments can be registered by calling the appropriate DEP field office: Northern Field Office, 973-299-7700; Metro Field Office, 973-669-3935; Central Field Office: 609-584-4100; Southern Field Office, 856-614-3601.