AASHTO elects new president, vp

The board of directors of the American Assn. of State Highway and Transportation Officials has elected Mike Hancock the association’s president and John Cox vice president.

Hancock is secretary of the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC). Cox is director of the Wyoming Dept. of Transportation.

As president, Hancock will emphasize three areas: Updating the AASHTO Strategic Plan; promoting innovation as it relates to State DOT and industry practices; and participating directly in AASHTO’s effort to pass the next surface transportation reauthorization bill.

“This is a critical time for transportation agencies across the country as we grapple with uncertain Federal funding in the face of ever-increasing transportation needs,” said Hancock. “AASHTO member transportation departments which are located in all 50 states and the District of Columbia, rely on the Federal government to provide sustainable levels of annual transportation funding today and into the future.”

Hancock recently served as president of the Southeastern Assn. of State Highway and Transportation Officials (SASHTO) and currently serves as chairman of the AASHTO Standing Committee on Planning and as a member of the Executive Committee of the Transportation Research Board, a national panel that guides transportation research in the United States.

AASHTO vice president John Cox has served as WYDOT director since January 2005. He was appointed to the position by former Gov. Dave Freudenthal and he was reappointed in February 2011 by current Gov. Matt Mead. As WYDOT Director, Cox is responsible for Wyoming’s largest and most diverse state agency with more than 2,000 employees based in 60 locations.

TAGS: News
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.