Skip navigation

ATA honors award winners

Las Vegas. The American Trucking Assns. (ATA) recognized several award winners and companies during its Management Conference & Exhibition here this week, including Mike Russell “Good Stuff” image award winners and its President’s Trucking Assn. Executives Council (TAEC) Leadership Award.

The sixth annual “Good Stuff” Trucking Image Awards honored three organizations for their efforts in generating positive awareness of the trucking industry’s role in the economy and dedication to safety.

The motor carrier award was given to YRC Worldwide, who this year launched a campaign focused on its workforce, sustainability efforts and involvement in communities and industry. Travel Centers of America and Petro Stopping Centers were honored as this year’s supplier winner for a campaign establishing the professional truck driver as a highway hero, highlighting the industry’s effort for a healthy lifestyle and promoting and supporting the industry throughout their communities.

The Nevada Trucking Assn. was chosen as the state association award winner for its campaign focusing on essentiality, safety and for promoting the image of the safe, professional driver at venues across the state.

“These groups are being honored for their efforts to bolster trucking’s prestige in this country,” said Bill Graves, ATA president & CEO. “We all know just how much trucking does every day to keep America’s economy rolling and our highways safe, and with programs like ‘Good stuff, Trucks Bring It,’ and the efforts of these organizations, more Americans are being made aware of our hard work as well.”

The Mike Russell “Good Stuff” Trucking Image Awards are named in honor of the late Mike Russell, a trucking industry supporter and former ATA vice president of public affairs, and are sponsored by TMW Systems.

Winner of the ATA’s Presidents Trucking Assn. Executives Council Leadership Award was Cathy Gautreaux, executive director of the Louisiana Motor Transport Assn. Gautreaux was honored for her leadership, dedication and achievements on behalf of the trucking industry in Louisiana.

“Our state trucking associations are crucial to the success of American Trucking Associations,” said Graves. “Cathy has advocated vigorously on behalf of the entire trucking industry. From her tireless efforts on the anti-indemnification issue in Louisiana, to her annual visits with the Call on Washington program and her support of the industry’s image and outreach programs, Cathy is recognized as an untouchable advocate of ATA and the industry.”

Sponsored by J.J. Keller, the President’s TAEC Leadership Award was created by ATA in 2002 to honor a state trucking association leader and to create an enduring legacy for that leader and for the industry. The award comes with a $10,000 grant for a non-profit 501(c)(3) trucking education or research organization chosen by Gautreaux.

“It is wonderful to see Cathy receive this kind of recognition,” said John Hausladen, president of the Minnesota Trucking Association, current TAEC chairman and a previous winner of the President’s TAEC Leadership Award. “Cathy has always been a strong advocate for the trucking industry and a staunch supporter of the ATA federation.  My colleagues and I wish her the best and congratulate her on this much-deserved award.”

Also honored were eight state trucking association executives for their years of service.

The TAEC members recognized included:

  • Mike Riley, president, Motor Transport Assn. of Connecticut – 25 Years of Service
  • Lane Kidd, president, Arkansas Trucking Assn.  and Jim Runk, president and CEO, Pennsylvania Motor Truck Association – 20 Years of Service
  • Dave Creer, executive director, Utah Trucking Assn. – 15 Years of Service
  • Dan Case, executive director, Oklahoma Trucking Assn. – 10 Years of Service
  • Kathy Fowers, president, Idaho Trucking Assn.; Jamie Fiepke, president & CEO, Kentucky Motor Transport Assn. and David Roberts, president, Mississippi Trucking Assn. – 5 Years of Service

New Mexico Trucking Association Managing Director Vic Sheppard was also recognized for his 26 years of service to the trucking industry.  Sheppard is retiring at the end of the year.  Dave Creer, a 15-year service award recipient, will be retiring at the end of the month.

ATA also recognized the EPA’s SmartWay Excellence Award winners.

“SmartWay is a shining example of what can happen when government engages the private sector to achieve a goal,” said Bill Graves, ATA president & CEO. “Just as we should congratulate these member companies for their commitment to environmental sustainability, we should recognize EPA’s commitment to helping them become more efficient as they deliver America’s most essential goods.”

Companies receiving SmartWay Excellence Awards include:

  • C.R. England Inc.
  • J.B. Hunt Transport Inc.
  • Schneider National Inc.
  • White Arrow LLC
  • Air Ground Express Inc.
  • Celadon Trucking Services Inc.
  • Dart Transit Co.
  • Doug Andrus Distributing LLC
  • Duncan and Son Lines Inc.
  • Dupre Logistics LLC
  • FedEx Ground Package System Inc.
  • Frito-Lay, Heartland Express Inc.
  • JBS Carriers Inc.
  • Jules Savard Inc.
  • Knight Transportation Inc.
  • Lake Enterprises Ltd.
  • Lone Star Transportation LLC
  • May Trucking Co.
  • Mesilla Valley Transportation
  • New Century Transportation Inc.
  • Orlicks Inc
  • Pacific 9 Transportation Inc.
  • Palletized Trucking Inc.
  • Poland Spring Bottling
  • Polaris Transport Carriers Inc.
  • Prime Inc.
  • Ruan Transportation Management Systems
  • Southern Refrigerated Transport Inc.
  • Swift Transportation
  • Walgreen OshKosh Inc.
TAGS: News Safety
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.