Don Freymiller receives TCA’s highest honor

Don H. Freymiller, founder and chairman of the board for Freymiller Trucking, a family-owned and operated company based in Oklahoma City, OK has been honored with the Truckload Carriers Association (TCA) Past Chairmen’s Award for 2013. The award, which is the highest honor given by the organization, was presented during the 75th TCA annual convention held in Las Vegas, NV this week.

Freymiller is a past chairman of the Interstate Truckload Carriers Conference (1990-91) and a past chairman of the Interstate Carriers Conference Refrigerated Division (1986-87). He has also participated in TCA’s Highway Policy Committee, Carrier/Shipper Relations Committee, and the “Improving Efficiency on the Docks” Management Panel. He is a former member of the Executive Committee of the American Trucking Associations (ATA) and a past board member for the ATA Foundation. He also belongs to Rotary International.

“I have to say that Don Freymiller is a charismatic leader and strong driver advocate who built an excellent company from the ground up. Over the years, he’s readily stepped forward to share the lessons he has learned throughout his career with people or organizations that might benefit from his knowledge. He’s a true ‘trucker’,” said Robert Low, TCA’s 2011-12 chairman and the founder and president of Prime, Inc. “In fact, he’s the role model that every trucker aspires to be.”

Freymiller Trucking specializes in transporting temperature-controlled and time-sensitive products throughout the contiguous United States. Don Freymiller began his career in 1964 hauling cattle in Wisconsin to supplement his income as a dairy farmer. He bought a single cattle truck in 1968 and the following year sold all of his farm equipment to become a full-time truck driver. He eventually focused on hauling refrigerated products between California and Chicago.

By 1994, the number of trucks in his fleet had increased to 826 and the company employed more than 1,200 people. Freymiller Trucking has always emphasized safety and was named a TCA National Fleet Safety Award division winner 11 times over the past 30 years.

TAGS: News
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.