NAFA announces finalists for 2014 Fleet Excellence Awards

Finalists have been announced for the NAFA Fleet Management Assn.’s 2014 Fleet Excellence Awards. The Fleet Excellence Awards (or FLEXY) recognize those who have impacted fleet management in both the corporate and public fleet segments during the previous year, the association said.

Three finalists were chosen for each of the seven categories. Winners will be announced during the Second Annual Fleet Excellence Awards Gala on Tuesday, April 8 at the Minneapolis Convention Center in Minneapolis, MN during NAFA’s annual conference.

“NAFA is proud once again to open our 2014 Institute & Expo with these prestigious awards,” said NAFA’s CEO Phillip E. Russo, CAE. “These individuals have demonstrated the highest level of achievement in their respective categories and exemplify the work that is going on in the fleet profession today.”

The FLEXY Awards are open to all fleet professionals, regardless of whether or not they were members of NAFA Fleet Management Association. Industry leaders, acting as judges in the selection process for finalists and winners, never saw the names of nominees or the organizations they work for. Voting was 100% blind; based solely upon the actions and ideas listed by the nominees on their submission forms. This allowed for unbiased selection based strictly on the quality of nominee accomplishments, NAFA said.

The 2014 list of finalists is as follows:

Outstanding Achievement in Corporate Fleet Management    

  • Jonathan Kamanns, Fleet Manager, Ingersoll-Rand
  • Patricia Smith, Senior Specialist – Facilities/Fleet Management, Diageo North America, Inc.
  • George Survant, Senior Director – Fleet, Time Warner Cable

Outstanding Achievement in Public Fleet Management            

  • Mike Plato, Director – Fleet (EMS), Alberta Health Services
  • Kelly Reagan, Fleet Administrator, City of Columbus
  • Kevin Schlangen, CAFM; Fleet Manager; Dakota County

Excellence in Corporate Fleet Sustainability 

  • Bonnie Brown, Manager of Administrative Services, Roche Diagnostics Corp.
  • Bruce Donovan, Director of Global Fleet Operations, DeAngelo Brothers Incorporated
  • Doug Swistock, Division Service and Operations Manager, TruGreen LandCare           

Excellence in Public Fleet Sustainability         

  • Keith Leech, Fleet Manager, City of Sacramento
  • Kelly Reagan, Fleet Administrator, City of Columbus
  • James Reinish; Manager, Central Automotive Division; Port Authority of NY & NJ

Excellence in Corporate Fleet Safety              

  • Jonathan Kamanns, Fleet Manager, Ingersoll-Rand
  • Albert Powell, DOT/Fleet Manager, Express Energy
  • Andy Sacha, Global Fleet Manager, Nestlé         

Excellence in Public Fleet Safety      

  • Jacquie Deitch, Director – Fleet Services, City of Calgary
  • Glenn Brown and Kevin LeBlanc, City of Edmonton - Fleet Services
  • J.D. Schulte, CAFM; Fleet Manager; City of Moline

Excellence in Fleet Leadership         

  • Lisa Grater, Transportation and Parking Services Coordinator, University of La Verne
  • Jonathan Kamanns, Fleet Manager, Ingersoll-Rand
  • Keith Leech, Fleet Manager, City of Sacramento
TAGS: News
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.