NAFA announces Fleet Excellence Award winners

NAFA Fleet Management Assn. has named its 2013 Fleet Excellence Award winners. The six awards are given to fleet professionals in the categories of safety, sustainability, and overall outstanding achievement. A seventh award was presented in the category of fleet leadership.

“We wanted to create an event that would showcase not only the best in fleet management, but that would also reflect the status and stature of the fleet industry itself,” said Phillip E. Russo, CAE, NAFA’s executive director. “Having a packed house of 1,600 people, feeling the buzz in the room that night, and experiencing the sheer joy and enthusiasm from nearly everyone in that room, I think we can easily say, ‘mission accomplished.’  We have set a new standard for fleet excellence, and for the presentation of fleet excellence awards. It is unparalleled in the world and gives our FLEXY awards instant credibility.”

The Fleet Excellence Awards, or FLEXY for short, were judged by a panel of industry leaders, media representatives, and NAFA committee leaders. 

The winners:

Outstanding Achievement in Corporate Fleet Management:
Kathryn Antonelli, Manager, Fleet Administration, Novartis Pharmaceuticals

Outstanding Achievement in Public Service Fleet Management: 

Steve Rapanos, Directory, City of Edmonton Fleet Services

Excellence in Corporate Sustainability: 

Christy Coyte Meyer, Global Fleet Director, Johnson Controls, Inc.

Excellence in Public Fleet Sustainability: 

Mark Swackhamer, CAFM, Fleet Operations Manager, Houston Independent School District

Excellence in Corporate Fleet Safety: 

Theresa Belding, Senior Manager - Fleet Services, Forest Pharmaceuticals

Excellence in Public Fleet Safety: 

Bill Horne, Supervisor - Fleet Safety, City of Edmonton Fleet Services

Excellence in Fleet Leadership: 

Robert Martinez, Executive Director, City of New York Police Department


TAGS: News
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.