Skip navigation

Con-way’s Duncan repeats as truck driving champ

For the second time in his career, Con-way Freight driver Dale Duncan has been named the 2009 National Truck Driving Grand Champion by the American Trucking Assns

For the second time in his career, Con-way Freight driver Dale Duncan has been named the 2009 National Truck Driving Grand Champion by the American Trucking Assns. Duncan, who first competed in the completion in 1995, Con-way said, also won in 2006.

Duncan headlined the winners in the 72nd annual American Trucking Associations National Truck Driving Championships, held in Pittsburgh Aug. 18-22.

“This was by far the most impressive winning performance ever turned in by Con-way Freight’s driver sales representatives at these national championships,” said John G. Labrie, president, Con-way Freight. “We had a record contingent of 88 competitors this year, the Grand Champion, a record number of national champions and top-three finishers in the finals, and a Con-way Freight driver as Rookie of the Year — a first. I’m incredibly proud of our team. Their accomplishments speak volumes about the professionalism and dedication to safety these true champions demonstrate not only on this national stage, but every day on the highways for our customers.”

Duncan also captured first place in the 5-axle competition. He is based at Con-way’s San Diego facility and has accumulated 1.25 million accident-free miles over his 26-year career. He joined Con-way in 1990.

The company’s Bob Dolan, based in Allentown, PA, finished first in the straight truck division and Mike Stickley, based in Winchester, VA, was first in the 4-axle division. Con-way also had the Rookie of the Year in Brandon Souder, who competed in the flatbed competition out of the Florence, KY, facility.

FedEx company drivers picked up four wins with FedEx Freight’s Don Logan, of Eskridge, KS, winning the 3-axle division and Mark McLean of Gardiner, NY, winning the twins competition. Troy Swenson, also driving for FedEx Freight out of Watertown, SD, won the sleeper berth class. FedEx Ground driver David Thompson was the winner in the step van division.

The other two individual winners were Mick Simpson, of Family Dollar Trucking from Rose Hill, NC, in the flatbed class and Tony Spero, of ABF Freight System based in Stratford, CT, winning the tank truck class.

The Texas state truck driving championship team won honors as the highest scoring state team, followed by Minnesota and then New Hampshire.

The full list of winners:

Grand Champion: Dale L. Duncan, Con-way Freight (California)
National Rookie of the Year: Brandon E. Souder, Con-way Freight (Kentucky)
State Team Trophy: Texas
Vehicle Condition Award: Bernard E. Spine, FedEx Express (Vermont)
Neill Darmstadter Professional Excellence Award: Thomas C. Turner, Martin-Brower (Georgia)
Life-Time Volunteer Award: James and Faye Williams

National Champions

Straight Truck Class
1st Place: Robert (Bob) J. Dolan – Con-way Freight (Catasauqua, Pa.)
2nd Place: Leroy Williams, Sr. – Con-way Freight (Zachary, La.)
3rd: Place: Brent A. Glasenapp – FedEx Express (Franklin, Wis.)

Three-Axle Class
1st Place: Don Logan – FedEx Freight (Eskridge, Kan.)
2nd Place: Brian Clark – FedEx Express (Pittsboro, Ind.)
3rd Place: Joe Mangiaracino – FedEx Freight (Sullivan, Mo.)

Four-Axle Class
1st Place: Mike Stickley – Con-way Freight (Winchester, Va.)
2nd Place: Tim Dean – Werner Enterprises, Inc. (Omaha, Neb.)
3rd Place: Darryl Dodd – Wal-Mart Transportation, LLC (Phil Campbell, Ala.)

Five-Axle Class
1st Place: Dale Duncan – Con-way Freight (San Diego, Calif.)
2nd Place: Ray Jackson – H-E-B Grocery Co. (San Antonio, Texas)
3rd Place: J.W. (Jesse) Ballard – YRC (Portland, Ore.)

Sleeper Berth Class
1st Place: Troy Swenson – FedEx Freight (Watertown, S.D.)
2nd Place: Ralph Garcia – ABF Freight System, Inc. (Rio Rancho, N.M.)
3rd Place: John Hummel – UPS Freight (Gaffney, S.C.)

Twins Class
1st Place: Mark McLean – FedEx Freight (Gardiner, N.Y.)
2nd Place: Chris Poynor – Con-way Freight (Pasco, Wash.)
3rd Place: Stacy Sansom – YRC (Shreveport, La.)

Flatbed Class
1st Place: Mick Simpson – Family Dollar Trucking, Inc. (Rose Hill, N.C.)
2nd Place: Rich Sweeney – Con-way Freight (Springfield, Mass.)
3rd Place: Rick Kinsey – Con-way Freight (Winchester, Va.)

Tank Truck Class
1st Place: Tony Spero – ABF Freight (Stratford, Conn.)
2nd Place: Jon Hume – FedEx Freight (Hillsboro, Mo.)
3rd Place: Dennis Chambers – Crete Carrier Corporation (Spartanburg, Neb.)

Step Van Class
1st Place: David Thompson – FedEx Ground (Alexander, Ark.)
2nd Place: Skippy LeBlanc – FedEx Ground (Seaford, Del.)
3rd Place: Nick Paradiso – FedEx Ground (Portland, Ore.)

TAGS: News
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.