TCA elects Kaburick as 2010-11 chairman

March 8, 2010
John Kaburick, president of Earl L Henderson Trucking Company, Salem IL, has been elected as the 2010-11 chairman of the Truckload Carriers Association (TCA).

John Kaburick, president of Earl L Henderson Trucking Company, Salem IL, has been elected as the 2010-11 chairman of the Truckload Carriers Association (TCA). The swearing-in ceremony took place during the association’s recent annual convention at the Wynn Las Vegas in Las Vegas NV.

Kaburick’s career in the motor carrier industry began in 1973 when he was an owner-operator with just one truck. Two years later, he and a partner launched a small trucking company that quickly grew into a 30-truck fleet. In 1977, Kaburick left the company to work as a salesman for a local truck dealership. This position helped him build a network of friends and contacts until 1990, when one of his long-time customers made him an offer he could not refuse—ownership of Earl L Henderson Trucking. Since then, under Kaburick’s leadership, the company has grown from 125 tractors and 145 temperature-controlled trailers to more than 400 tractors and nearly 600 dry van and reefer trailers.

During his year as chairman, Kaburick hopes TCA members and staff can focus on certain legislative issues that have been surrounding the trucking industry. He cites the potential Electronic Onboard Recorder mandate, CSA 2010, and sleeper berth regulations as areas that need to be closely monitored. He also recognizes that economic conditions are still unstable, making it more and more difficult for carriers to stay afloat.

“So my goals, really, are working with the membership and doing everything we can as an association to bring balance to the issues with which we are confronted,” he said.

These individuals have been elected to assist Kaburick and will serve as officers until the next annual convention:

•First Vice-Chairman: Gary Salisbury, president and chief executive officer, Fikes Truck Line Inc, Hope AR

•Second Vice-Chairman: Robert E Low, president and founder, Prime Inc, Springfield MO

•Treasurer: Tom Kretsinger Jr, president and chief operating officer, American Central Transport Inc, Liberty MO

•Secretary: Keith Tuttle, president, Motor Carrier Service Inc, Northwood OH

•Association Vice-President to ATA: Lance Craig, CEO and president, Craig Transportation Co, Perrysburg OH

•Immediate Past Chairman: Kevin Burch, president, Jet Express Inc, Dayton OH

•At-Large Officer: Shepard Dunn, president and CEO, Bestway Express Inc, Vincennes IN

•At-Large Officer: Don Hayden, president, M & M Cartage Co Inc, Louisville KY

•At-Large Officer: Russell Stubbs, president, FFE Transportation Services Inc, Dallas TX

•At-Large Officer: Tom Witt, president, Roehl flatbed and specialized, Roehl Transport, Marshfield WI

Sponsored Recommendations

Reducing CSA Violations & Increasing Safety With Advanced Trailer Telematics

Keep the roads safer with advanced trailer telematics. In this whitepaper, see how you can gain insights that lead to increased safety and reduced roadside incidents—keeping drivers...

80% Fewer Towable Accidents - 10 Key Strategies

After installing grille guards on all of their Class 8 trucks, a major Midwest fleet reported they had reduced their number of towable accidents by 80% post installation – including...

Proactive Fleet Safety: A Guide to Improved Efficiency and Profitability

Each year, carriers lose around 32.6 billion vehicle hours as a result of weather-related congestion. Discover how to shift from reactive to proactive, improve efficiency, and...

Tackling the Tech Shortage: Lessons in Recruiting Talent and Reducing Turnover

Discover innovative strategies for recruiting and retaining tech talent in the trucking industry at our April 16th webinar, where experts will share insights on competitive pay...

Voice your opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of FleetOwner, create an account today!