Women In Trucking Foundation awards 13 scholarships

June 12, 2018
Discover who the Women In Trucking Foundation chose as recipients of its scholarship program awards.

The Women In Trucking (WIT) Foundation has announced the selection of 13 recipients of its scholarship program, providing $1,000 each to winners to further their careers in the trucking industry.

To see the scholarship recipients, click here.

The awardees come from across the United States and are enrolled in schools or training programs in categories of driving, leadership, safety or technical fields of study. Four of the 13 are using the money to earn a Commercial Driver License (CDL), which will help address a critical shortage of drivers facing the industry.

Founded in 2010, the foundation has provided approximately $70,000 in scholarships over the past eight years. It is supported by Women In Trucking, whose mission is to encourage the employment of women in the trucking industry, promote their accomplishments, and minimize obstacles faced by women working in the industry. The foundation provides scholarships twice a year, with the next round of applications opening in August.

“There is such a need for more skilled talent in the trucking industry, and the WIT Foundation provides financial support to help motivated individuals grow their skills,” said Debora Babin Katz, WIT Foundation chair and vice president of TrucBrush Corporation. “We hope to keep growing the number of recipients we support, and we are actively seeking partners to make that happen.”

Significant contributors to the WIT Foundation include the Ryder Charitable Foundation, UPS and the J J Keller Foundation, which gave a grant in the name of a longstanding employee, Jan Hamblin. The recipient of the Jan Hamblin scholarship is Perla Acuña, who is studying for a Masters in Integrated Supply Chain Management at the University of Wisconsin-Platteville.

Visit www.womenintruckingfoundation.org or call 888-464-9482 for more information.

Voice your opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of FleetOwner, create an account today!