National Truck Driving Champions chosen

Aug. 14, 2017
American Trucking Associations announced that Roland Bolduc is the Bendix Grand Champion of the 2017 National Truck Driving Championships.

American Trucking Associations announced that Roland Bolduc is the Bendix Grand Champion of the 2017 National Truck Driving Championships. These championships took place August 9-12 at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando FL.

Since 2011, Bendix Commercial Vehicle Systems has been the sole sponsor of the Grand Champion.

Bolduc, who also took home the Sleeper Berth class title, lives in East Longmeadow MA and drives professionally for FedEx Express. He has more than 1.9 million safe driving miles in his career and has worked in trucking for more than 36 years, spending the past 23 years with FedEx Express. Bolduc was named an America’s Road Team Captain in 2000.

ATA also recognized Bryce Neilson as 2017 Rookie of the Year. Neilson claimed the title after performing well in the Flatbed division. Additionally, the team of drivers from Kentucky produced the best collective score, with an average of 307.13, and were honored as the top state delegation.

Professionalism and dedication to trucking were key themes during the championships. Daniel Shamrell was honored during the awards banquet with the Neill Darmstadter Professional Excellence Award, and Joe Smith was chosen as the Lifetime Volunteer Award recipient.

Champions from each of the nine vehicle classes were also announced. Here is the list of national champions:

•3-Axle—Glen Kirk, Franklin IN, Old Dominion Freight Line

•4-Axle—James Duffy, Marshall WI, FedEx Freight

•5-Axle—Michael Miltenberger, Cumberland MD, PITT OHIO

•Flatbed—Wayne Crowder, Louisville KY, FedEx Freight

•Sleeper Berth—Roland Bolduc, East Longmeadow MA, FedEx Express

•Straight Truck—Richard Bailey, Macomb MI, FedEx Freight

•Tank Truck—Scott Woodrome, Middletown OH, FedEx Freight

•Twins—Chris Poyner, Richland WA, XPO Logistics

•Step Van—Michael Bills, Fuquay Varina NC, FedEx Express

Other awards presented were:

•Rookie of the Year—Bryce Neilson, Anaconda MT, FedEx Freight

•Team Champions—Kentucky

•Vehicle Condition—Bryan Wold, Reiles Acres ND, XPO Logistics

•Highest Written Exam Award—Paul Brandon, Oxford CT, FedEx Freight; Don Logan, Eskridge KS, FedEx Freight

•Neill Darmstadter Professional Excellence—Daniel Shamrell, Battle Ground WA, FedEx Freight

•Lifetime Volunteer Award—Joe Smith, Kenco Management

For full information, access

Sponsored Recommendations

Way Beyond Weight: 5 Ways Truck Weights Affect Fleet Operations

Truck weights affect everything from highway safety and operational costs to back-office efficiency. Here’s how.

Heavy-Duty Maintenance Checklist

A maintenance checklist can help ensure you hit everything necessary during an inspection. Check out our free downloadable checklist to help streamline your repairs.

Five Ways a Little Data Can Save Your Company Millions

While most trucking and logistics companies rely on cellular to keep their work fleet connected, satellite has the ability to connect anywhere and through small data transmission...

Fleet Case Study: 15% YOY Growth for ITDS

Learn how this small trucking company scaled significantly and maintained outstanding customer service without adding additional people. Sylectus TMS can automate operations and...

Voice your opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of FleetOwner, create an account today!