TMC bestows honors, names general chairman

At the conclusion of the recent Technology & Maintenance Council(TMC) 2012 Annual Meeting and Transportation Technology Exhibition in Tampa, the technical council of the American Trucking Assns. named a new general chairman as well as recognized a number of individuals for their accomplishments.

Lee Long, director of maintenance for Southeastern Freight Linesin Columbia, SC, is the new general chairman. A TMC member since 1996, Long was involved in the council’s Professional Technician Development Committee (PTDC) and its highly successful National Technician Skills Competition while also chairing several task forces and serving as PTDC chairman from 2007 to 2010. Long was elected to TMC’s Board of Directors in 2010, serving this past year as vice chairman and chairman of meetings.

TMC officers for 2012-2013 include vice chairman and chairman of meetings, Kirk Altrichter, Gordon Trucking; chairman of study groups, Dan Umphress, Fleet Advantage; membership and publicity chairman, Peggy Fisher, TireStamp, Inc.; chairman of associates, Al Anderson, Bose Corp.; immediate past chairman, Roy Gambrell, Truck It; and executive director, Carl Kirk, Technology & Maintenance Council of American Trucking Assns.

Directors include Brent Hilton, Maverick Transportation; Glen McDonald, Ozark Motor Lines; Kevin Otto, Cummins; John Sullivan, Reliable Carriers; Ron Szapacs, Air Products & Chemicals; Kevin Tomlinson, South Shore Transportation; and Dave Williams, Verizon Fleet Operations.

Also at the meeting, Norman Ball, training officer for Michelin North America, Doug Jones, engineering support manager for Michelin North America, Jim LeClaire, southwest regional manager for Horton Inc, Greg Shipman, partner with Vertical Alliance Group, and Long were named 2012 TMC Silver Spark Plug recipients.

These recipients were awarded the Silver Spark Plug for their outstanding contributions to the improvement of equipment, maintenance, industry-related technology and management practices, TMC said.

Named as recognized associates were Cirilo “Lilo” Hurtado, application engineer for Mobil Delvac; Rod McNulty, regional service manager for Peterbilt Motors; and Ed Smith, national accounts manager for Webb Wheel Products.

Clyde “Mark” McCoy, a shop supervisor for Swift Transportation, was given the Excellence in Maintenance Supervision Award for front-line supervisors  who display excellence and professionalism, both technically and administratively, in maintenance supervision. McCoy supervises 35 technicians at Swift’s Memphis facility.

David Foster, vice president of maintenance for Southeastern Freight Lines, was named recipient of the Peggy Fisher Study Group Leadership Award.

The award, established in 1986 and named after its first recipient, recognizes an individual for outstanding leadership as Study Group Chairman as well as outstanding leadership and contributions to TMC and the transportation industry.

TAGS: News
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.