Photo: Bison Transport
Bison Transport

TCA reveals 2020 Fleet Safety Award winners

Nov. 24, 2020
The 18 companies with outstanding safety records are now eligible for two grand prizes to be announced in April 2021.

The Truckload Carriers Association (TCA), in partnership with Great West Casualty Company, named 18 division winners in the 45th Annual TCA Fleet Safety Awards competition. These awards identify trucking companies which have demonstrated an unparalleled commitment to safety, according to TCA.

“TCA is immensely proud of the work our members do each and every day to improve safety,” said TCA President John Lyboldt. “In this year of so many unique challenges, these Fleet Safety Award winners have found a way to not only keep their employees protected from COVID-19 but also go above and beyond to improve safety on our highways.”

The top three winning companies in each of six mileage-based divisions had the lowest accident frequency ratios per million miles, annually.

Division I winners (less than 5 million miles):

  • First place: Diamond Transportation System Inc.
  • Second place: Spring Creek Carriers Inc.
  • Third place: FTC Transportation Inc.

Division II winners (5-14.99 million miles):

  • First place: Mill Creek Motor Freight
  • Second place: Double Diamond Transport Inc.
  • Third place: AAT Carriers

Division III winners (15-24.99 million miles):

  • First place: Elgin Motor Freight
  • Second place: Grand Island Express Inc.
  • Third place: Smokey Point Distributing

Division IV winners (25-49.99 million miles):

  • First place: Bay & Bay Transportation
  • Second place: Erb International Inc.
  • Third place: Johnson Feed Inc.

Division V winners (50-99.99 million miles):

  • First place: Groupe Robert Inc.
  • Second place: Wilson Logistics
  • Third place: Freymiller

Division VI winners (100 million or more miles):

  • First place: Bison Transport
  • Second place: May Trucking Company
  • Third place: CFI

The 18 division winners have been invited to compete for one of two grand prizes – one for carriers with a total annual mileage less than 25 million miles, and the other for carriers with mileage greater than 25 million miles. Grand prize winners will be announced at TCA’s 2021 Annual Convention, April 17-20 at the Wynn Las Vegas Resort. All winners will also receive recognition at TCA’s 2021 Safety & Security Meeting, June 6-8 in St. Louis, Mo. 

Sponsored Recommendations

Reducing CSA Violations & Increasing Safety With Advanced Trailer Telematics

Keep the roads safer with advanced trailer telematics. In this whitepaper, see how you can gain insights that lead to increased safety and reduced roadside incidents—keeping drivers...

80% Fewer Towable Accidents - 10 Key Strategies

After installing grille guards on all of their Class 8 trucks, a major Midwest fleet reported they had reduced their number of towable accidents by 80% post installation – including...

Proactive Fleet Safety: A Guide to Improved Efficiency and Profitability

Each year, carriers lose around 32.6 billion vehicle hours as a result of weather-related congestion. Discover how to shift from reactive to proactive, improve efficiency, and...

Tackling the Tech Shortage: Lessons in Recruiting Talent and Reducing Turnover

Discover innovative strategies for recruiting and retaining tech talent in the trucking industry during this informative webinar, where experts will share insights on competitive...

Voice your opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of FleetOwner, create an account today!